## EDITORIAL

## New President of International Society for the History of Pharmacy for 2023-2024

International Society for the History of Pharmacy (ISHP) was founded in 1926. There are 29 national societies under supervision of ISHP from Austria, Belarus, BeNeLux, Canada, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iran, Italy, Japan, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom and USA.

Prof. Dr. Axel Helmstädter (Figure 1), Außerplanmäßiger Professor at Philipps-Universität Marburg is the president of ISHP since 2018 until the end of 2022. He was elected as the president for 2 years (2018-2020) in the extended committee and general assembly meeting of ISHP that is hold during the 43<sup>rd</sup> International Congress on History of Pharmacy (43<sup>rd</sup> ISHP), Warsaw/Poland, on Sep. 12-15, 2017. His position was continued for another 2 years in the extended committee and general assembly meetings of ISHP in Washington/USA, (44<sup>th</sup> ISHP) on Sep. 5-8, 2019. Because of COVID19 pandemic, the 45<sup>th</sup> ISHP was postponed to 2022 and therefore the presidentship of Prof. Helmstädter was extended for one more year.

## Arman Zargaran<sup>10</sup>

1- Pharm.D., Ph.D., Department of History of Medicine, School of Persian Medicine, Tehran University of Medical Sciences, Tehran, Iran 231

**Correspondence:** Arman Zargaran Editor in Chief, Research on History of Medicine Journal

Zargaran A. New President of International Society for the History of Phan

nacy for 2023-2024. Res Hist Med

2022;11(4): 231-232

zargarana@sums.ac.ir

*Res Hist Med* 2022; 11(4)

There are only 2 permitted period of presidency for everyone in ISHP and therefore the new president should be introduced by election in Milan for 2023.

45<sup>th</sup> ISHP was hosted by Accademia Italiana di Storia della Farmacia in Milan, on Sep. 7-10, 2022. It was a successful face to face congress after COVID 19 pandemic. During this congress, Dr. Halil Tekiner (Figure 1) is elected as the new president for 2023-2024 by the votes of ISHP members in the extended committee and general assembly meetings. He is the Associate Professor and the head of Department of Medical History and Ethics at Erciyes University School of Medicine in Kayseri, Turkey. He is also one of the youngest members of International Academy of History of Pharmacy with 39 years of age. He has 60 papers have been published in the Scopus indexed Journals and his h-Index (Scopus) is 5.

Some of the awards he won included:

Turkish Academy of Sciences Distinguished Young Scientist Award (2019) National Golden Mortar Award (2015)

The Pharmacist Hamdi Bey Award for the History of Pharmacy (2010)

International Pharmaceutical Federation's Weblogger of the Year Award (2006) The Turkish Academy of Pharmacy Award (2006)

Dr. Tekiner is known as a young active scientist in the field of history of pharmacy and all ISHP members are waiting to see his achievements to raise up the society more in near future.



Figure 1. Prof. Dr. Axel Helmstädter, president of ISHP (left) and Dr. Halil Tekiner, elected president of ISHP for 2023 (right), in the ISHP extended committee and general assembly meeting, Milan, Sep. 9<sup>th</sup>, 2022

Conflict of Interest None.

None.

232